THE STORY OF MISS MYRTLE

Sometimes you just have to blog about your cat. This is the story of how I met my adorable feline friend.

I moved to a new city in September for work, and in doing so it was the first time I was officially living alone in over 5 years. It was one of the hardest things I ever had to do. And, to be honest, I would not want to go through what I did ever again. A lot of crying, feeling lonely, and thinking I made a huge mistake. I packed my stuff in a UHaul and left my sister and old life behind. It was time for me to become myself.

I moved into this ADORABLE apartment. And I mean PERFECT for me. It has to be the best place I’ve ever lived in- colorful walls, kitchen back-splash, free laundry, walk-in closet. But something was missing. I had left my friends (or the ones I still had) and my sister to start a job where I knew no one. I always wanted to be at work because when I went home I would get lonely and depressed. One evening I ventured onto the Cedar Rapids Adoption website and saw a few cats that I was interested in. I always thought I wanted a male cat so I could tell everyone “I don’t need a man in my life, I have my cat,” but the one that caught my eye in particular was this beautiful cat named Myrtle.

The next day I drove to the shelter and met other cats that were on my list. I actually was really interested in a Siamese named Claire. But when I opened Myrtle’s cage and she crawled on my lap, there was an instant connection. She would follow me around with this cute chirp-meow. Gorgeous green eyes and a lovely white fur necklace. I stayed at the shelter until they closed, not wanting to leave. The next day I drove my sister to the shelter to meet Myrtle and the day after that Myrtle was in my car and became a permanent tenant in my home. I still to this day can’t believe she had been at that shelter for over 6 months, stuck in a cage just waiting for someone to take her home. We were meant to be together.

To all of you out there that feel lonely, I honestly believe that a connection with an animal one way to feel better a lot faster. I don’t know your situation and you don’t know all of mine, but I promise you, Myrtle has brought me happiness I haven’t had in a long time. I’m not saying I’m 100%, but the difference from how I was to how I am now is night and day.

Even as I write this blog-post, she’s competing with my laptop on who gets to be on my lap…
…usually she ends up winning. But who could argue with this lovely face?

She definitely is queen of my apartment, and I don’t mind.
If you’re interested in adopting an animal, visit your nearest animal shelter. There are plenty of beautiful animals that would love to become a part of your life.
What do you think?

