FEBRUARY STITCH FIX HAUL

As I was scrolling through my Newsfeed on Facebook, I saw that one of my good friends shared something called Stitch Fix- clothes and accessories sent to your door by a personal stylist. I clicked on the link and before I knew it, I was all signed up for a package coming my way in just a few short weeks.

For those of you who don’t know, here’s a screen shot from their website explaining how it works:

CaptureYou can also link a Pinterest board or any other website that you feel portrays your style so the stylists have more of an idea of what you like. It also made me go over my pins on my “Style” board and weed out the things that really weren’t me. Apparently, at first glance at my board, I really love scarves and cardigans- check out my Pinterest board if you’re interested!

So here it is- my first Stitch Fix box. I felt like a kid on Christmas and couldn’t wait to see what the stylist picked out for me. I wrote them a note saying I was going to be in Chicago for St. Patrick’s Day weekend and was looking for a cute outfit for the trip- here’s what they sent me:

PicMonkey CollageI must say- I didn’t think this fix was really me. I do love me a good cardigan- but these two were a bit too floppy and shapeless. I feel like sometimes since I’m a size large in most clothing and I’m tall, people assume I’m also bigger. But I’m not. I’m quite the averaged-sized human being: just 6 feet tall. I’m also not a huge maxi-skirt fan, so that right off the bat wasn’t something I thought I wanted to keep. I’m also into autumn colors, so the scarf and the skirts’ bright, bold pattern were a bit out of my comfort zone. The only thing I liked right away was the pencil skirt- it fit pretty well and was a nice, neutral brown.

But to my surprise, once I tried the outfits on (mixing in my own accessories), I weirdly loved them all. Here are three of my favorite combinations of the 5 things they sent me:

PicMonkey CollageI surprisingly loved the scarf- and happened to have a jacket that matched it quite well. I probably would have kept it- if not for the price tag. I didn’t feel like it was worth the amount they were asking and I think that I could find one similar locally for less- but it at least broadened my horizon to new colors and “bright” things.

The pencil skirt was as great as I thought it would be- it’s stretchy and no zipper in sight which makes for a sleek, no-fuss look. The cream twist cardigan was also much better on me than in the box. But- as with the scarf- I felt like it wasn’t worth the price. If the fabric were a bit more quality and was about $20 cheaper, I would have definitely kept it. But I’ll keep my eyes out for something like it in the future now that I know it’s something I like on me.

The maxi skirt was also a huge surprise- it was so comfortable and long enough for my mile-high legs (and you have no idea how hard it is to shop for those bad boys). The cardigan was alright, just not my style. Loved the color, though.

I guess all in all I wasn’t expecting perfection from my first fix, but I feel like this fix was one that really opened my eyes to new styles and colors I never thought to use before. Before shipping the items I didn’t want back, I was given the option to tell my stylist what I thought about her picks- which hopefully will help her know what I like and don’t like in the future! And I’ve decided I’m going to get one fix shipped to me every month for 6 months and if I feel like it’s not working for me, I’ll quit. But I really like the idea of it and I’m hoping for even better luck in the future!

If you’re interested in trying this out, click here to go to their website and sign up!

3 thoughts on “FEBRUARY STITCH FIX HAUL

What do you think?

