CAFFEINE NO MORE

 

I know for most of you readers I’m sure this seems crazy- but hear me out.

DSCN11775

I recently went to the doctor for a check up and she told me that I should cut down on my caffeine to help with anxiety and not getting enough sleep. I know I didn’t drink THAT much caffeine per day, but growing up I feel like we drank caffeine-filled drinks more than water. So I’m sure my body has some sort of addiction to it. It’s been almost a month now and I’m definitely feeling better- but it was quite the experience to quit it cold turkey. Making coffee in the morning was in my routine, so I knew I couldn’t stop making it. There’s something satisfying about having a warm drink with my delicious peppermint creamer- it’s the best way for me to wake up. So right after my appointment I rushed to the grocery store and bought some decaf coffee. I’ve been drinking that every morning and I like it so far- it seems to do the trick.

As for my occasional soda here and there, it hasn’t been easy to not stop at a convenience store and get a fountain drink or to grab a can of soda out of the staff fridge. It’s been super hard driving past a Starbucks, knowing I can’t have espresso anymore. But all in all I feel like it has helped my body settle down and create its own energy instead of phoning it in with caffeine. Not going to lie, the first few days I felt super tired, but for someone who usually stays up until 3am every night, I think it’s been a good thing. I still go to bed at midnight or a bit later, but I do think I am getting to sleep sooner, feeling tired more, and getting more quality sleep. So, my advice for you if you’re wanting to go down this road:

1. If you have to have your morning coffee- decaf will suffice.

2. DRINK LOTS OF WATER- if you cut out your liquids with caffeine in them, you need to replace that amount with water. Keep hydrated!

3. Try teas or other caffeine-free drinks: now I’m quite picky about my teas, but I’m definitely more open to trying them out. Why not?

4. Get your sleep on! Don’t forget to sleep- in fact you’ll probably be tired and have headaches, so the best way to get through them is to sleep as much as you can. You’d be amazed how much better your body functions with more sleep and less caffeine keeping it awake!

Any of you taken the “no caffeine” plunge? Thought about it? I’d love to hear your stories!

One thought on “CAFFEINE NO MORE

  1. I too have taken the no caffeine plunge! I was having serious anxiety/panic issues after getting engaged (of all things) in the fall, so one of the first things I did was cut caffeine. It’s definitely helped. I am hoping one day I can work it back in, but maybe after the wedding 🙂 I’ve been drinking protein shakes actually in the morning with my breakfast, they’re from Orgain and actually taste really good, unlike a lot of those other ones out there.

What do you think?

