PROJECT 333- HERE WE GO

I’ve been really interested in slimming down items in my closet and after hearing about Project 333 from other blogs I follow, I decided now is the time to do so starting on September 1st- let my three month journey begin! Here are the rules:

The Basics
When: Every three months (It’s never too late to start so join in anytime!)
What: 33 items including clothing, accessories, jewelry, outerwear and shoes.
What not: these items are not counted as part of the 33 items – wedding ring or another sentimental piece of jewelry that you never take off, underwear, sleep wear, in-home lounge wear, and workout clothing (you can only wear your workout clothing to workout)
How: Choose your 33 items, box up the remainder of your fashion statement, seal it with tape and put it out of sight.
What else: consider that you are creating a wardrobe that you can live, work and play in for three months. Remember that this is not a project in suffering. If your clothes don’t fit or are in poor condition, replace them.

I actually opted to donate a lot of the clothes that didn’t make the cut- if I didn’t remember wearing the piece in the past year, if it was damaged, or didn’t fit I just let it go. It was hard at first, but it got much easier and almost fun to get rid of so many useless items and give them away to someone who could use them more. I noticed that I bought a lot of things in all the colors possible when I found something I liked. I had five pairs of skinny trouser pants: black, navy, maroon, olive, and tan. I honestly only remember wearing the black pants for a recital and the tan pants for interviews. I don’t even really like how they fit, but I always have a hard time finding pants that are long enough for my 36″ inseam. I knew right off the bat I needed to just get rid of the obscure colors that I knew I would never wear. And hopefully in the near future, I can find a pair of black and tan trouser pants that I like even more to replace the ones I don’t particularly like.

Also, a lot of the items are still practically new, and therefore I have opted to try and sell them on Ebay or at a consignment shop in town. So hopefully I can get a bit of cash back for items I don’t wear anymore! Here’s a link to my Ebay shop if you’re interested in seeing what I have for sale at the moment.

Something that makes this process a bit more difficult is the dress code difference between my two jobs. One I am allowed to wear dark jeans, while the other I have to wear some sort of dress/trouser pant. Perhaps if I find a style of trousers I love, this won’t be as huge of an issue. But at the moment, I only have jeans that I’m really comfortable in, and therefore I’m wondering which jeans/trousers will make the cut.

I have a bit of an obsession with shoes and scarves, so those items weren’t included in the 33 items this time around. Perhaps after living minimally for three months I’ll be more apt to slim down my shoe and scarf collection. For now the 33 items only include tops and bottoms. Look forward to selfies each day to show how you can make 33 items into a unique outfit every day!

Do you have any advice on minimizing your wardrobe? I’d love to hear about your experiences!

And just for cuteness, a picture of my cat Myrtle. Have a lovely Labor Day!

10661038_364813777004189_1034096087_n

One thought on “PROJECT 333- HERE WE GO

  1. I’m a Stitch Fix and Project 333 fan. With accessories and shoes, I couldn’t get my wardrobe to 33 so I chose 55 pieces — the number of pieces typically in the (5) Stitch Fix style cards. That way I could include accessories and shoes. It worked and my closet never looked better. Good luck!

What do you think?

